Your Cart is Empty

by World Music Network February 19, 2014


Celebrating 25 Years Of Riverboat Records: Music From The Source

On 24 February 2014, Riverboat Records celebrates it twenty-fifth anniversary with the release of Riverboat Records: Music From The Source. Since its founding in 1989, the label has supported creative new music from far-flung corners of the globe and has received the 2013 WOMEX Label Award for 'Best Independent World Music Label'.

The release of Riverboat Records: Music From The Sourcealso provides us with the opportunity to thank our supporters, hence the special price!

Music From The SourceRiverboat Records: Celebrating 25 years of making music from around the world

‘Let your boat of life be light, packed with only what you need - a homely home and simple pleasures, one or two friends, worth the name, someone to love and someone to love you, a cat, a dog, and a pipe or two, enough to eat and enough to wear, and a little more than enough to drink; for thirst is a dangerous thing.’ Jerome K Jerome: Three Men In A Boat

Listen/Order the Album

This limited edition includes music from thirty-three bands and highlights the breadth of talented artists that have been given an international platform thanks to Riverboat Records. Tracks featured on Music From The Sourceare from our favourite artists, such as Monoswezi, Lala Njava, Kristi Stassinopoulou & Stathis Kalyviotis, Debashish Bhattacharya, Etran Finatawa, Sierra Maestra, Shanren, Ramzi Aburedwan and more

Should you wish for a sneak peak, four of the album tracks are featured in the latest podcast The Shedby Mark Coles:


The Shed - water, water everywhere - #134 (13.02.2014) byMark Coles on Mixcloud


Music From The Source: Track List


01      Kristi Stassinopoulou & Stathis Kalyviotis: Matia San Kai Ta Dika Sou
02      Monoswezi: Mapfunde
03      Debashish Bhattacharya: Indospaniola
04      Jaipur Kawa Brass Band: Piya Tu Ab To Aaja
05      Sambasunda Quintet: Kembang Tanjung
06      Ramzi Aburedwan: Sans Adresse
07      Sotho Sounds: Intro: Be Ea Bojoa (Part 1)
08      Mabulu: Rosita
09      Lala Njava: Pardon à l’Afrika
10      Etran Finatawa: Icheraid Azaman
11      Shiyani Ngcobo: Senzeni
12      Boris Kova? & La Campanella: Pearl
13      She'Koyokh: Esmera Min
14      Kardemimmit: Ahven (Perch)
15      Sierra Maestra: Ausencia/Aurora/Se Fue/La Mora
16      Martín Alvarado and Horacio Avilano: Milonga De Corralon
17      Hanggai: Drinking Song


01      Anansy Cissé: Baala
02      Krar Collective: Ende Eyerusalem
03      Syran Mbenza & Ensemble Rumba Kongo: Heritage Ya Luambo    
04      Colombiafrica - The Mystic Orchestra: Colombiafrica, The Mystic Sound System
05      Colombiafrica - The Mystic Orchestra: No Habla Na'
06      Vitor Ramil & Marcos Suzano: Invento
07      Mory Kanté: Kènkan
08      Samba Touré: Alabina
09      Dédé Saint-Prix: Egalité A Dé Vitès
10      René Lacaille: Ogardanou
11      Jyotsna Srikanth: Annapoorne
12      Paban Das Baul: Kaliya
13      Nuru Kane: Exil
14      Koo Nimo: See Wo Nom Me (Tsetse Fly You Suck My Blood)
15      Wayo: Zande Tribe (A Cappella)
16      Wayo: The Sky Will Fall (Remix)
17      Abdel Gadir Salim: Gamearina
18      Shanren: Drinking Song

Go to the album page for more information